Balancing holiday stress with meditation

Every year at this time I made the same vow: This year my holidays will be simple and serene. Which, of course, never happened. But this year I’m approaching things differently.

Balancing holiday stress with meditation

As part of my coursework I put together this Prezi on holiday stress and meditation.

NOTE: A Prezi presentation is a jazzier version of a slide show like PowerPoint. It’s hosted on the the website Prezi.com so you don’t have to download anything. Just click on the link and it will take you right to the presentation.

balancing holiday stress with meditation

In Prezi it I discuss a few of the benefits of meditation and walk you through a brief meditation. You can move through it at your own pace. If you try it out, please let me know what you think.

We can’t eliminate stress, but we can manage it

I now expect the holiday season to be manic and even chaotic. I accept that stores will display Christmas decorations before Halloween. I know that some people around me will attempt to stuff as many activities as possible into an already over-stuffed season. And I’m aware that moods can shift quickly and darkly at this time of year, including my own.

This year I plan to take time out every day to meditate, even if it’s only for 10 minutes a day. Will this magically give me the perfect holiday? Of course not. But it will help me hold on to my sanity and my sense of perspective, two things in rare supply in December.

Where can I learn more about the benefits of meditation?

The benefits of meditation at artofliving.org

Stress reduction and meditation at Mayoclinic.org

treating heart disease with meditation at JAMA Internal Medicine 

http://archinte.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=410453 (study at Cedars-Sinai involving patients with coronary heart disease appearing in JAMA Internal Medicine in 2006)

What are your methods for handling holiday stress?

Author: wiseabundance

I'm a technical writer trying to simplify my life and learn to live in abundance.

3 thoughts on “Balancing holiday stress with meditation”

  1. “Every year at this time I made the same vow: This year my holidays will be simple and serene.”—Ah, yes, me too. It’s gotten better over the years. I gave up things like mailing out Christmas cards. It just got to be too much. But I still get behind with things and then stress over getting them done–especially wrapping gifts and making cookies. Now, off to check out your meditation slides. 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s nice that as we get older we learn to let go of some of those tasks, like mailing out dozens of Christmas cards. Some years I was a zombie by Christmas day. But I still get sucked back into stressing about details if I’m not careful. Here’s to a more serene holiday this year. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As I get older, I’ve come to understand that when we can’t change something stressful in the environment (such as the Christmas marketing attacks), we need to find ways to tolerate its presence. Meditation can be an effective means to that end.

    I enjoyed the Prezi. I had my first real introduction to one at a recent historical conference in DC and was very impressed. On my computer screen, I had to spend more time enlarging elements for readability, but the effects are great. As our visual focus (and dependency) on technology expands, Prezi will probably overtake PowerPoint if Microsoft doesn’t make some changes!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

